Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
The fees vary by offense. The court clerk who responds to your request will give you the exact costs and fees to do deferred disposition for your case. Typically the fees are the fine amount plus $25. Some exceptions apply.
Show All Answers
A court clerk will review your application and e-mail you a response within 1 business day of your application submission.
You must complete the deferred disposition application. A link is provided on the Deferred Disposition online services page.
To be eligible for deferred disposition (also called deferred adjudication), you must have a valid driver’s license.
You cannot have a commercial driver’s license (CDL)
The offense must be a moving offense as defined by the Texas Transportation Code
If for speeding, the speed cannot be greater than 19 miles over the posted limit
It cannot be for an offense in a work zone with workers present
It cannot be for passing a stopped school bus
It cannot be for failing to stop and leave ID at an accident
You are not eligible if you have had a citation dismissed by deferred disposition in the last 12 months in the state of Texas.
You may only do deferred disposition for only 1 citation online, at the court service window or by mail. If you want to request deferred disposition for multiple cases, you will need to schedule a hearing and make your request of the judge.
Your last deferred disposition must be completed at least 12 months prior to any request with the City of Garland. If you had a case dismissed by deferred disposition anywhere in the State of Texas within the last 12 months you would not qualify. You may still request a court hearing and request a deferral from a judge.